Scraps! – Pre-War Message from the Vicar

This letter from Revd. J.H. Greaves was published in the Parish Magazine in May 1914.

SCRAPS !

MY DEAR FRIENDS,

I am afraid that my letter to you this month will be like a collection of scraps, but I hope you will read it, all the same.

I must express my gratitude for Lent and Easter, and hope that you feel with me about them. We must not let their memory die, but go on in the strength they had for us. Let me say thank you, also, to those of you who responded to my suggestion and sent Lent offerings for the Church Room Debt. Is it too much to hope that some more will send an offering now, towards clearing off the amount that is wanted still, £19? Further, I must thank you, and I do very heartily, for the Easter offerings from the Parish. You are very kind to me.

We have lost some more old friends. Mr Langmead, who was in the Parish before I was, has moved away ; but is going to be a friend and worshipper with us still. Mr Matcham is still in the Parish, but after two long spells as Churchwarden, he has asked to be relieved of that work, to give someone else a turn. We hope to have his help in other ways.

In May there will be two great Festivals of the Church. First, Ascension Day, which is to be thought of with Christmas, Good Friday and Easter. I hope we shall keep it with devotion and gladness. It is one of the two days in the year that members of the Men’s Society and the Communicants’ Guild are asked to observe with a Corporate Communion. Second, Whitsunday, ten days later, which is rightly enough regarded as the birthday of the Christian Church. Then we think how the promise of the Holy Spirit was, and is, being fulfilled, so that we may rejoice in His Holy Comfort.

Earlier in the month, the Confirmation will be held, and those who have been confirmed will come, as a party of young hopeful Christians, to our Lord’s Service of Communion on Whitsunday. All who have been confirmed in previous years ought to be there, if possible, to keep the Feast with them.

We are conscious, all the time, of the shadow of dissension and danger that hangs over the national life. We must pray that our politicians may seek peace and ensue it ; and none be for a party, but all be for the State. God grant that British statesmanship may not prove bankrupt in our time of need.

Believe me to be,

Your faithful and affectionate friend,

J.H. Greaves.

Leave a comment